Miss Major! Luna takes home a purple ribbon


Well the blue ribbon/no ribbon streak was officially broken on sunday.  Miss Lunatic won a 4 point major!  For you non show people (which kinda includes me too) this is a big deal.  Roughly, points available are based off of class entries (more AKC info here ).  So a 4 point major means there was a rather large entry for the show.  In order for Luna to get her show championship she must have a total of 15 points, which is including a minimum 2 majors.  So this is why it was a big deal to get a  major, let alone a 4 point major.  So now she has 7 points towards her championship, almost halfway there.

One of the many things Luna has going for her is focus, especially when food is involved.  I have a feeling Patty (the handler) enjoyed this personality aspect, and she never got sick of standing there for the food…

even when it was placed on the floor to offer a more hands free approach…

she moved well too (sad I don’t have more photos of that as it’s one of my favorite parts of watching her in the ring)

and then stood more for some chicken..   I will give you a little background on some things in luna’s show past (since it is her blog afterall)… she was not always a fan of standing still, the waiting game was usually where she would begin to fall apart a bit.  Over time I began to figure out ways to keep her entertained in the ring, but the final piece of the puzzle was mostly likely maturity.  She still occasionally likes to have a bit of  “tude” in the ring, every dog has their off days.  But overall she is pretty push button in the ring, which is pretty darn good for a dog who I lovingly like to call “little miss unimpressed.”

I am very happy that I got to see her get her first major on sunday, even if the 30+ minutes were semi stressful.  Many thanks to the judge for being very thorough and really comparing every dog to the overall group.  Sometimes it seems like judges just breeze right through, though some of the minutes were agonizing sunday I’m glad my little girl was recognize for the compact little powerhouse she is.  I will post a show photo when I get them.

Happy monday all.

About Anna

I am a native of Virginia but recently relocated to Maryland I often feel I am simply a visitor... here to take note of little things people often pass by... I enjoy photography, family, the outdoors, reading, my vizsla... etc etc
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, Show Ring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Miss Major! Luna takes home a purple ribbon

  1. Congratulations to you and Luna…she’s beautiful!

  2. Sue says:

    Congratulations. Fudge usually falls apart in the group ring. He’s totally bored by that time and thinks up fun new ways to entertain the spectators. We’ll make do with a few Best of Breed ribbons and let it go at that.

    Now I’m on to doing Rally with the pups.

  3. Miss Kodee says:

    Luna!! Congratulations! I was over at your photography blog akginspirations! Wow your work is just amazing – I have just started out learning about DSLR these last few mths and your work is truly and inspiration, good blog name!

    • Anna says:

      aww thank you… let me know if you ever have any questions.. I don’t know much but photography is second to dogs on my list of favorite topics. Thanks for stopping by

  4. Jen says:

    Congratulations to Luna! What an awesome accomplishment! It feels so great to get those majors out of the way doesn’t it?!
    I left a response to your questions on your other blog:) I didn’t know there was a few:)

    • Anna says:

      Thanks! It is nice, hoping we can continue the trend. Pretty decent competition up here in Northern VA/Maryland area, and she was a slow developer physically. I saw your response on the other blog, thank you. Thanks for checking out both 😉

  5. Cavaliers Corner says:

    Hi and thanks for dropping by our Blog and commenting. My recipe folder is coming along great. Did you also use the same range of folder, sleeves etc. I’d love to see how you’re doing it too. It’s always good to get new ideas isn’t it. Chow! Oh and gorgeous dog Luna!

  6. hd55 says:

    Congratulations! Sorry, only just caught up

  7. AngelColbert says:

    She is absolutely beautiful. How long have you been competing?

Leave a Reply

