Shed happens…


It seems I disappear quite often this time of year for several months.  Such is the life for a boarding kennel manager.   I doubt anyone was worried but we are all fine, just trucking along… taking things one day at a time.   Weekends this winer and early spring were usually full of hours of shed hunting, until the spiders and underbrush took over.  I have lots of images to share from our winter so here we go.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A rare moment of stillness, maybe she was being kind and letting me catch up… or think I had.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA See any antlers??? Nope me neither

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And just incase you think we were just meandering around the woods enjoying a nice flat walk, think again.  We didn’t nickname this area “hills” for nothing.  If you look closely you can see my Mr. taking a break (or he slipped, I can’t remember ) and Wyatt on his way back to me after he checked on him…   At the time these hills seemed like nothing for the pups, but the naps they took when they got home said otherwise.


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They bounce back quick though, and my little point and shoot camera had a hard time keeping up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But it’s no matter, there were creeks and other discoveries to enjoy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I thought this tree with rocks all around it was kinda odd. I imagine the rocks came first?  It’s crazy to find such well rounded river rocks so high up in the landscape. I wish I had retained more of my geology lessons.  I mean we were near creeks and rivers so it makes sense, just crazy to think of the time it took for all of this.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I couldn’t get enough of these trees with the moss on them, reminded me of a big dinosaur foot or something.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I rarely leave the woods without finding some sort of feather, and these are some of the most common.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wyatt finds them pretty interesting too

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a good thing I don’t have a very big place, or I would have one serious old bottle collection. Anyone know this one?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For those curious, this is what you call a “rub”  It’s made by male deer (bucks) rubbing their antlers on a tree.  There are various reasons for this but it’s a sure sign of bucks in the area, and often bigger trees mean bigger antlers.  Sometimes this is the closest we get to the antlers/sheds… okay for me it’s more than sometimes as I have a lot to keep track of while in the woods.  I have a really crappy sense of direction so I try and keep the Mr. within sight or calling distance as best I can, also have to keep a loose eye on the dogs, and also look for sheds myself.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But there is always next year, sometimes we even find some from the year before… usually the critters find them first.   Stay tuned for more pics and the final tally for this year.

About Anna

I am a native of Virginia but recently relocated to Maryland I often feel I am simply a visitor... here to take note of little things people often pass by... I enjoy photography, family, the outdoors, reading, my vizsla... etc etc
This entry was posted in Everyday Life, hunting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment