A new year, a new goal


Hello 2014! Another year gone, where does the time go.?.. Luna is also another year older.  She hit 6 yo on the 19th of December, not that she acts more mature or anything.

luna-5711-2

Nor does she look her age, apparently she has some great color genes and has held the gray at bay.  There are rumors that there might be some grays hiding under her chin, but they are not confirmed.

luna-5754

Say what??? She apparently doesn’t believe the rumors.  But moving on, we have more important matters to talk about… things like resolutions.

luna-5701-2
All ears.  I find dog related resolutions much easier to come up with. There always seem to be so much pressure to come up with resolutions and goals. I mean it’s not a bad thing but still.  Maybe it feels like there is less pressure involved as the dog really won’t care if you slip a little in your journey through the years, unless it involves less hot dogs.  In anycase, a resolution, or rather a goal has basically fallen in my lap today after reading a blog from Kristine … side note, if you haven’t read about her pup Shiva you should… great honest blog.  Well Kristine’s blog lead me to a new blog called Something Wagging this way comes which looks like it’s going to be a great resource.  She has a Train your Dog Challenge up for 2014 which sounds like a great idea.
So that’s where we will start, we will train something new each month,  kinda broad goal but it’s something.  It may be as simple as a new trick or maybe delving into some new outlets like scent detection stuff or rally stuff you just never know where this crazy girl will take me.

Wonder where on earth should we start???
Maybe I should teach her how to cover herself with blankets so I don’t always have to… that would be nice. Bottom line whatever we get into it should only enhance our relationship.

Oh and I think I will advance Wyatt’s retriever training some too, even if it never gets used.  And I think we will sure up the whole idea of “leave it” as he has been slacking in that lately. Probably should refresh Luna a little bit too.

Do you have any goals with your dog for this year??

About Anna

I am a native of Virginia but recently relocated to Maryland I often feel I am simply a visitor... here to take note of little things people often pass by... I enjoy photography, family, the outdoors, reading, my vizsla... etc etc
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment